top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Swallow

Cinco años después

The last time we saw each other, we both thought it was the last time we would ever lay eyes on the other. She was headed to a government run refuge for children who had suffered sexual abuse in their home. I was heading back to the States to begin college. She was 13. I was 18.


My college career was nothing like what I had expected. I continued to feel pulled back to Guatemala. I could not find peace when I wasn't there. I took a year off halfway through and returned to Guatemala City to work with young women in sexual and reproductive health with Iniciativa Guatemala. Leaving again broke my heart. I finished college amidst the global pandemic in 2021, and I immediately got on a plane back to Guatemala. I cannot explain the relief I felt when I knew that this time, I didn't have an expiration date for my time. I had done it. I was 23.


I have now been able to give myself over to the work that has guided me for so long now. Iniciativa Guatemala works primarily with young women, helping them to make informed decisions about their futures. We have a free contraceptive clinic, a robust comprehensive sexual education program, and a program that accompanies young women as they enter motherhood, supporting them with parenting classes, infant stimulation and more. I love it.


A couple months ago, I was walking in the community along with a couple of pregnant young women after a workshop. We were chatting about this next stage of life that was fast approaching when I heard my name. I turned around to see her. 5 years later, but I knew it was her. She gave me the tightest hug and told me that she was finally back. 5 years later, at 18, she was back and she told me she was doing well. She was working selling second hand clothes, and told me it was good to be home. I couldn't believe it.


Seeing her again made me realize that had I not followed this pull back here to Guatemala time and again, I would not have been able to see her again. I would not have been able to see her alive and well and of age. I've been reflecting recently on the power of coming back, of staying, of committing. I feel such peace knowing that I am finally in a place in my life where I can commit, and where I want to. I want to be somewhere where I can see people grow, can see people change, and where I can grow and change alongside them. She and I met at 13 and 18, and now we are 18 and 23. We are both still here.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page